Back to Events
Wheeling Symphony “Bach Double and Mozart”

Buy Tickets


Thursday, November 09, 2017 at 7:30PM

Symphony Concert

Stravinsky, Bach, Danielpour & Mozart
André Raphel, conductor
Rachel Stegeman, violin
Juan Jaramillo, violin

Igor Stravinsky’s charming “Pulcinella Suite” begins this all WSO concert. Stravinsky called this work his “discovery of the past” and “gateway” to his future compositions. The timeless Bach “Double Violin Concerto” highlights the virtuosity of our very own Rachel Stegeman and Juan Jaramillo. The lively concerto is characterized by the expressive counterpoint between the two violins. The concert continues with Richard Danilepour’s “Adagietto for Strings” a WSO commission that Danielpour called “…an exciting fusion, being written as it is for Wheeling—one of the smallest cities to maintain an orchestra of this caliber…” The concert concludes with Mozart’s final “Symphony, No. 41” (Jupiter) where Mozart demonstrates his sheer brilliance as a composer. Its emotional range prefigures the vast expressive canvas that foreshadow the symphonies of Beethoven.